NaNoWriMoMoJo

November 11, 2010 at 6:42 pm (Uncategorized)

Yay, my Nano Mojo is back!  All thanks to Write or Die.

I did a lot of my usual Faffing About this morning and then this afternoon I set Write or Die to 30 minute stints, much more than my usual. I seem to be able to do about 1000-1200 words per 30 minutes. Who knew?

On a much more positive notes, the plot bombs I was worrying about yesterday seem to have fizzled out all by themselves. I wrote a cracking scene this afternoon, even if I do say so myself. It’s funny that if I sit and think about the plot too much I worry about it, whereas if I just force myself to write, the characters say things that make me realise that I’m not actually in control of the plot anyway, so why worry about it?

I know that sounds weird and freaky. But seriously, once your characters get going they come up with some lines and you find yourself thinking What? and then later on in the story they say or do things that make the earlier lines make sense.

Which I realise I’m not doing right now – making sense, that is.  All I’m saying is, when it comes to Nano, go with the flow, and all will be well…

Leave a Reply

