I got a glimpse of the sunshine

November 2, 2010 at 6:20 pm (Uncategorized)

This is the best bit of Nano, for me. I remembered some of my old tips and tricks from years past when I’ve done it,  and it’s given me a real boost.

Elizabeth’s Word Count Tips ‘n’ Tricks

1. Go to the ‘search’ function on the Nano website. Select ‘Advanced Search Options’. Search for only authors who have written at least a word. Sort the results by wordcount, so at the top of the list you have those numpties who are clearly cheating because they’re already up to 200,000 words and it’s only day two. Find yourself on the list. Find a target who is a few thousand words or a few pages above you. Aim to get ahead of them. Success!

2. Promise yourself you are allowed some treat (in my case, a takeaway) if you reach a certain wordcount by a certain time. Success!

3. Get yourself to a particular plot point before you finish. Always leave it on an exciting bit, so it’s easy to pick up again tomorrow. Success!

I wanted to get a bit ahead of myself today because I’m not going to be able to manage much wordcount tomorrow. I am going out for the day for a very, very special trip and to say I’m excited is a little bit of an understatement. I am going to visit an establishment in the beautiful town of Reading and I will write all about it tomorrow, when I get home.

Total wordcount: 8,026. I’m happy with that.

Leave a Reply

