Yay! It’s November!

November 1, 2010 at 10:32 pm (Uncategorized)

Here we go, folks… the day has arrived. It’s my writing month at last, and three blissful weeks away from my day job are stretching out before me, pure and unblemished and full of promise.

I have a basic plot sorted out, a few key characters and a few key events, and that’s about it. I’m no good at extensive planning, although maybe it would be better if I were – I prefer to write spontaneously, that way I’m excited by the surprises I uncover and exciting writing makes for exciting reading. (For example, a character has just turned up and to everyone’s surprise including mine, she’s got a bruise on her cheek. How did it get there? She claims she had a fight with her sister. What does this tell you about her, if anything? Don’t ask me… I’m sure I’ll find out sooner or later!)

Today I managed 2,242 words, which isn’t too good for a day off. I spent a lot of time doing what I do best of all, which is Faffing About. This noble occupation for me includes, in no particular order:

– laundry, that I should have done at the weekend
– emptying and reloading the dishwasher, should have done last night
– popping to the corner shop for more milk
– making and drinking five cups of tea
– opening and consuming 1 x bag of magic stars
– consulting with people on Facebook over what the title should be.

It’s pathetic, it’s not good enough and it’s got to stop. Despite my self-imposed rule of No Jeremy Kyle for the month of November, I found myself taking a sneaky peek whilst cooking my lunch (‘I’ll Prove You’re The Dad But Will You Pass The Lie Detector?’). On a day off work, with my lovely son spending just over six hours at school, I should be able to manage at least 5,000 words. So in order to catch up with myself I need to give myself a target of 7,000 words.

It’s all about the wordcount!

Leave a Reply

